Reading Reflection – Purposeful Writing by Rebecca Bowers Sipe and Tracy Rosewarne

I wish I would have had more time with Purposeful Writing: Genre Study in the Secondary Writing Workshop. I enjoyed seeing into Tracy Rosewarne’s classroom for eighteen weeks. Since I had to read/browse quickly, I appreciated the organization of the book as well as the daily schedule. The book provides the right amount of detail to allow for easy adaptation for my own classroom. I was a bit sad to see that Tracy had 1 hour and 35 minutes to work with for 18 weeks, while I have 72 minutes to work with for 12 weeks. Clearly, I would have to cut out units and/or shorten them for an Intermediate Composition course. For Sophomore Comp. and Lit., I will have an additional 12 weeks for the entire course, so I could most likely be able to fit Tracy’s activities as well as the additional three novels scheduled for the class. I won’t copy Tracy completely, but it is nice to know that I possibly could. 🙂

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

